PDA

View Full Version : Taping myself playing...help/suggestionsc


The Godfather
06-08-2009, 07:41 PM
I have a question to the musicians here:

I'm seriously thinking about taping myself playing. I have an idea of recording myself playing my 6 string, 12 string, banjo, mandolin and cuatro. And then cutting the pieces into a possible song.

I have good acoustics in 2 rooms in my house, and I plan on using my taping rig that I use to tape bands..and ideas for mic placement and how to tape myself? I appreciate any help...I've always noodled around with my guitars and now I'm serious about writing one ''song'' and hopefully this can lead my confidence in making more music plus more...


Oh ya...my best friend plays harmonica, and I'm going to have him come over and tape us fucking around to see if anything can come out of it.

That's it, Sir.
06-12-2009, 12:48 PM
With what little I know, I'd say using a good mic(which you must have. I'm sure) try to lay down everything in one session, ambient noise is going to be noticably different. I don't think you'd get the "same" sound in two different sessions. Also, I'm not sure if you're going to use pro tools or just mic the room and multi track it some other way but playing with a metronome is a good idea if it doesn't bleed in to your recording. You might find that cutting and pasting might not sound great. I'd write the song and arrange it naturally then record the finished product and the layers.

The Godfather
06-12-2009, 04:07 PM
With what little I know, I'd say using a good mic(which you must have. I'm sure) try to lay down everything in one session, ambient noise is going to be noticably different. I don't think you'd get the "same" sound in two different sessions. Also, I'm not sure if you're going to use pro tools or just mic the room and multi track it some other way but playing with a metronome is a good idea if it doesn't bleed in to your recording. You might find that cutting and pasting might not sound great. I'd write the song and arrange it naturally then record the finished product and the layers.

Thank you, I will try this.

I have Adobe Audition 3.0, and there is one room in my house that would be perfect.

Taping it in one session does make perfect sense.

Thanks so much again :upyours

That's it, Sir.
06-14-2009, 12:02 PM
Anytime, sorry for the armature advice. Let me know how it turns out. I'm in the midst of recording my first album now.